Happy Birthday to me!

by

Today is my Birthday, and it feels only fitting I should come back and talk about Hordes Genesis.

Our local Hordes Genesis event takes place this coming Saturday, and although I’ve talked before about what army I’m taking, my list has changed a lot during the past few weeks. The list I’m taking in it’s current incarnation is undefeated, but I’m not letting that get me too cocky. Let me show you the lists…

Army Name: Vayl 25
Legion of Everblight
25+6 points, 11 models

Vayl, Disciple of Everblight +6 points
* Angelius
* Carnivean
* Raek
* Shredder

6 Blighted Swordsmen

Army Name: Vayl 35
Legion of Everblight
34+6 points, 18 models

Vayl, Disciple of Everblight +6 points
* Angelius
* Raek
* 2x Shredder
* Typhon

10 Blighted Swordsmen
* Abbot & Champion

Army Name: Vayl 50
Legion of Everblight
50+6 points, 27 models

Vayl, Disciple of Everblight +6 points
* Angelius
* Carnivean
* Raek
* 2x Shredder
* Typhon

10 Blighted Swordsmen
* Abbot & Champion
7 Spawning Vessel
Strider Deathstalker

So I know what your first question is, and that’ll probably be “Vayl?”

Yes Vayl, when I first recieved the Legion cards I looked through them and had a gander at all the casters. Vayl struck me as particularly useful vs. Hordes, not something I would take vs. Warmachine, but very useful vs. Hordes. I had the model so I broke her out and played with her. It sealed the deal for me when in one game I managed to kill two of my opponents heavy beasts at the top of turn one, and feated to get back again, ouch.

Now the other surprise addition to my list you’ll notice is the spawning vessel. This to me, is the hidden jewel in the rough, but it’s something I want to talk about later in the week, so I’ll save that for now.

Anyway, I need to paint up 25 points by Saturday, so there should be daily updates as to what I’ve painted up until then. All I have painted is Vayl as above, but I’m aiming for a Carnivean, Angelius and a Raek, and my spawning vessel and acolyths aswell. Hopefully it will go well!

Tags: , , , ,

5 Responses to “Happy Birthday to me!”

  1. Ajay Says:

    Looking forward to the continuation of this. As a recent owner of Legion, Vayl has also caught my eye and I’m quite eager to see how a seasoned master handles her!
    P.s. Happy Birthday jabroney!!

  2. Quixotic Says:

    Happy Birthday. And good luck at Genesis!

  3. petezilla Says:

    Have a horrible day!
    Nice paintjob, my legion is depressingly ugly, they look like someone sneezed on them.
    Doesn’t one of the podcasts have a competition about winning a tournament while using the spawning vessel? You should go for that.

  4. criticalsam Says:

    happy birthday Jase!!! sounds like the legion is comming along well and the paint job is sweet

Leave a Reply

