Genesis

by

Coming soon in July is the Hordes release event, Genesis. Details of which can be found here: http://privateerpress.com/become-part-of-hordes-genesis-this-july

Now I’m particularly excited by this event as I missed the Warmachine one because I was working. I will be helping our local press ganger (Sanj) organise the event, but I’m really hoping to play in it aswell.

Now I was going to play my trolls, however they really weren’t to my play style, and they have gone on to a better place where they will be more appreciated! So this leaves me faction-less for Hordes. I had a look through all the PDF cards, and decided I was going to go back to the Legion of Everblight, a faction that I picked up and had a small go with about 8 months ago.

The first thing I did was pick my caster that I would focus on mainly, this had to be Absylonia, I loved her background and spell list and in MK II she got a lot better in my opinion.

Now to make a list! Now me and Sanj have talked before about the event, and I think our preliminary decision was 25/35/50 pt escalation. So first off, the 25pt list:

Absylonia, Terror of Everblight +5 points
* Angelius
* Carnivean
* Raek
* Shredder
2x Shepherd

Now the clever ones amongst you out there will notice that I have 2 points to spare in this list, but the problem is that I can only add to the list and not take away, and there’s nothing that I’m adding in my 35 point list that’s less than 3 points! So as you can see it’s fairly beast heavy, in fact the only non-beast elements are there to help with beast management. The Angelius is there for forced evolution and it’s armour piercing attack (def 16 + pow 16 armour piercing attack = win). The carnivean will help me deal will infantry thanks to it’s spray. The Raek is in because there’s nothing better than having playing god on it and leaping it right into the middle of a mess of things and double handed throwing something, and it’s animus is useful if Abby wants to go for the assasination. And the shredder is there cause everyone could do with tenacity sometimes (def 17 angelius!)

Now the 35 pt list:

Absylonia, Terror of Everblight +5 points
* Angelius
* Raek
* Shredder
* Typhon
10 Blighted Swordsmen
* Abbot & Champion
2x Shepherd

So here you’ll notice I started off by upgrading the carnivean to Typhon, which makes dealing with infantry 3x as good, and also Typhon is the win, especially with playing god on him so he regains his reach he had in MK I. I decided I wanted a bit of infantry in the list, if only to try and bog down enemy beasts, and I fricking love Weapon masters! Sentinels are always in my list when I play Retribution, and when I saw the swordsmen (def 14!) I knew I had to take them, when I saw that the abbot gives them cleave and overtake, I knew it was a must have. Now Petezilla has told me that he doesn’t like taking these because of the lack of reach, but I think that’s not that much of a problem for myself.

Now my 50 points:

Absylonia, Terror of Everblight +5 points
* Angelius
* Carnivean
* Raek
* 2x Shredder
* Typhon
10 Blighted Swordsmen
* Abbot & Champion
2x Shepherd
The Forsaken

I threw the Carnivean back in for a second wave heavy beast, and it’s Animus can come in very handy. I threw in another Shredder for another transfer target and another tenacity. Because I added another 2 beasts I decided that I might need a bit more fury management, so I added in a Forsaken. Forsakens are really good particularly against Hordes cause it’s blight blast special action can absolutley destroy a fully riled beast.

So there it is, my 3 lists, there were a few things I was thinking of adding other than that such as Striders and Deathwalker, but I decided I should have an easy time dealing with infantry as long as I’m careful with Typhon.

As always thoughts and comment will be welcome!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

