Nationals list discussion

by

So, I’m going to talk a little bit about my lists for the Nationals and why I chose them, I’m sure I may have documented this before, but there’s been some minor changes and I’m also going to go into more details.

First list:

Hoarluk Doomshaper, Shaman of the Gnarls +7 points
* Mulg the Ancient
* Slag Troll
* Troll Axer
Fell Caller Hero
Horthol, Long Rider champion
4 Krielstone Bearer & Stone Scribes
10 Pyg Burrowers
Stone Scribe Chronicler
Troll Whelps
6 Trollkin Fennblades
3 Trollkin Long Riders

So this is the (now infamous) Barbed Thorn Challenge list+. I’ve added a bit into the list and I’ll explain them all individually. First off I needed something to make Mulg faster, and I also needed a stay at home late game winning Beast, so in goes the Axer. Next I threw in the Chronicler because he has so many ass screwing abilities, but really he’s only in for one, the Knockdown story. Basically if anyone kills the model or the unit I choose with a melée attack, at the end of their activation they get knocked down, basically making that suicide run from the Dygmies not as pointless as before. Finally I threw in some whelps because, let’s face it, whelps are fricking ace, and some fennblades as a bog unit.

How does the list play? Still not sure on this, but it will be my anti magic list. With Purification off Hoarluk, Mulg’s animus and Banishing ward I can shut down the enemy spellcaster pretty effectively.

Second list:

Madrak Ironhide, World Ender +5 points
* Mulg the Ancient
* Troll Axer
Fell Caller Hero
Horthol, Long Rider Champion
4 Krielstone Bearer & Stone Scribes
* Stone Scribe Elder
10 Pyg Burrowers
Stone Scribe Chronicler
Troll Whelps
10 Trollkin Fennblades
3 Trollkin Long Riders

A very similar list, so I won’t explain my choices.
How does it play? It’s so simple, it’s a Madrak delivery system in a way. Everything in this army has the capability of hitting like a freight train with madrak’s additional damage die spell. Mulg gets a little faster thanks to Warpath, and can even charge for free (with pathfinder to boot) thanks to Killing Ground. And Skilldrak even brings one hell of a brilliant feat to the table, especially with an army laden with Fennblades. I cheakily threw in an Elder into this list to stop the continuous effects, tee hee.

So there’s my lists. On the weekend I will be constantly live tweeting so you can follow me if you want @jasefox, and after the weekend I will be putting up as many reports as I can remember. I’d be very interested in thoughts on the list and what I could maybe change/swap, as long as it doesn’t mean buying loads more models!

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Nationals list discussion”

  1. Peter Buxton Says:

    So, umm, how are you going to cope with the scenarios then? 🙂

    Just interested that’s all….

  2. Procrastinator Says:

    AXE TO MONTH.

    cant wait to hear how it goes very jelous im not going with you defo next year!!

    try and get some critical decaps for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

