I got eStryker’d!!

by

Ok so today I had a throw down against the local press ganger here PG_Sanj.

Sanj brought along some lovely (mostly) painted Cygnar, his list was as follows:

Lord Commander Stryker
* Lancer
* Ol’ Rowdy
* Stormclad
* Squire

Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team
Captain Arlan Strangewayes
Rupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord
Stormblades
* Stormblade Officer & Standard
* 3 Stormblade Storm Gunners
6 Sword Knights
6 Trenchers

I brought my natonals Hoarluk list:

Hoarluk
Mulg
Slag troll
Axer
10 Dygmies
6 Fennblades
Krielstone bearers and stone scribes
Stone scribe chronicler
Fell caller
Longriders
Horthol
Whelps

I won the roll for deployment, and set up like this:

Notice the single Dygmy out on his own.

Sanj setup pretty central, with gun mages and sword knights flanking like so:

Notice the immaturity on Sanj’s behalf.

I had first turn and it all went pretty straight forward, the Dygmies and longriders ran, the Fennblades ran, the slag troll advanced, Horthol ran coming more central, the axer cast rush on Mulg who ran forward, Hoarluk put banishing ward on the Fennblades and dumped 4 fury onto the Krielstone. The fell caller and chronicler just advanced up.

Sanj’s turn, he popped smoke on the trenchers after advancing, Rupert gave Stormblades pathfinder and they advanced through the woods, Black 13th advanced and took a snipe shot at Horthol doing 3 Damage. Lancer ran forward, Rowdy and the Stormclad advanced, Sword knights tried to block the Longriders charge lane to the Lancer, and finally Stryker arced a Rebuke onto the Dygmy leader, which meant that because no orders, no burrowing. Well played Mr. Sanj.

My turn 2, I ran the Fennblades forward, with 1 running into the smoke to engage the trenchers. Krielstone popped the aura again and Chronicler put the knockdown story on the Fennblades (if anyone killed them in melée they would be KD’d after their activation.) A Longrider charged the Lancer, killing the blocking sword knights with impact attacks, but didn’t do much damage, another longrider charged the sword knights killing 2, and the third one ran round the terrain. The axer popped Rush on the slag, who advanced trying to get range on the stormclad but was just out. Mulg advanced up slowly, popping his animus. Hoarluk advanced and dumped all but one of his fury.

Sanj’s turn 2, he advanced the black 13th and black penny’d the Fennblade in combat with the trenchers, and killed 1 other fennblade. The trenchers advanced and cra’d 2 more fennblades down. The Stormguard got pathfinder from rupert and shot down the remaining fennblades, leaving one left alive thanks to tough. The Stormclad charged mulg, hitting with his first attack and doing 15 damage, ouch. However his second attack then did 3 damage, he missed his third attack and his fourth did a meager amount of damage aswell, the electro leap managed to kill a stone scribe (twice thanks to tough) and one of the whelps I popped, leaving two whelps behind mulg and mulg with about 8 boxes left, phew. The lancer beat down one of the longriders and the sword k ights finished him off, and another one too, leaving the one behind them.

My turn 3, I moved the slag troll behind the Stormclad and double handed throw on him, throwing him at some trenchers, this was a silly mistake as it totally blocked Mulgs charge lane to a trencher which, with Goad from hoarluk, could’ve got me in melée range of Stryker. The Dygmies burrowed, the Krielstone popped his aura, the chronicler and fell caller didn’t really do anything but move up (I think the chronicler put the KD story on the stone scribes). The Axer put rush on Mulg and Mulg charged a trencher, which he bitch slapped (eager to Goad him I totally forgot about snacking down the trencher) so I forced him forward thanks to Goad and thunked Rowdy with mah trunk, damaging him quite a bit and taking out his hammer arm, yay! The remaining Longrider performed a (debatable) charge on Arlan, now Sanj says I did a bendy charge around the terrain here, I don’t think I did, but he let it go because he’s a nice guy, and the longrider murdered Arlan. Hoarluk advanced and popped his feat, and Mulgs animus on himself.
Things forgotten on this turn: Snacking on the Trencher, Mulgs extra attack from his affinity with Hoarluk.

Sanj’s turn 3. He started off by assaulting with the Stormblades, a couple of them got shots on Hoarluk, which did a bit of damage and I think I transferred one of them. The Black 13tu shot Hoarluk doing a bit of damage which I transferred again. The trenchers also had a go, which I took the damage off. At the end of all those attacks Hoarluk had 2 health and no transfers, talk about living dangerously. A couple of sword knights tried to walk up to Hoarluk taking free strikes from the surviving member of the fennblades and died, the other two capped the fennblade as retribution. The Lancer smacked a Stone scribe, and Rowdy hit on another Stone scribe, but he passed his tough. The Stormclad stood up and beat on Horthol, killing him. Stryker charged the last remaining Longrider and the velocity (is that the right spell?) off towards my left, where I couldn’t get him. ‘Brill, I’m going to have to kill his whole army’ I thought.

My turn was a quick one, the slag frenzied and pathetically tickled the sword knight officer, but I removed the fury off him. The Dygmies arrived and surrounded the Storm guard. Hoarluk put fortune on the Dygmies and camped 3 fury, cause I could see the assasination attempt coming. The fell caller gave the Dygmies +2 to hit, and the Chronicler gave them the KD story, both of these models then advanced to stand by Hoarluk. The Dygmies DESTROYED the storm guard, majority of them with their hand weapons aswell due to some sick rolling on my behalf. The axer rushed himself and walked over to the Stormclad and thresher’d doing not a lot, but boosting on the stormclad to put him on max fury, mistake #1. Mulg beat down on Rowdy, and left him with 2 damage boxes, both cortex, and 2 fury available on Mulg, this is mistake #2, I bought the extra attack with Mulg and finished off Rowdy, then forced him for Goad 2″ towards the lancer. In hindsight, I should have left Rowdy, with damaged arms he wouldn’t have done much to Mulg, and in further hindsight, Mulg should have got his affinity with Doomshaper attack and finished off Rowdy, at the least I should have left the Goad. Fudge.

Sanj started his last turn and charged the Sword Knight into Hoarluk, he hit and I transferred the damage to the Slag troll, thinking about it I’m not sure if i was allowed to do this because it frenzied last turn. The Sanj velocity’d over a wall, and charged Hoarluk, missing with his charge attack, he bought another which hit and I transferred again killing the slag troll, and he bought a final attack that finished off Hoarluk.

A good game overall, I forgot a lot of things, and that longrider charge will always be disputed. I think the list played really well and I was proud of it, I was especially impressed with the Dygmies once again. I feel Hoarluk just doesn’t have a lot going for him, 7 fury is nice but his spells are so situational, against menoth I can see them being good, or even against Cryx, but other factions tend to laugh them off. Ah well, we’ll have to see how it goes.

2 Responses to “I got eStryker’d!!”

  1. Sanj Says:

    Very fun game, mass destruction all over the place.
    Sorry my turns took so long, all your trash talking just made me want to win more, so I took my time :p
    I’m sure that longrider charge was my miss judgement, just because I thought Arlan was safe, doesn’t mean he was!
    Your list has some great synergy, like you said, Hoarluk’s upkeep hate is really going to hurt menoth and cryx.

    Dygmies are amazing, praise Morrow for rebuke.

  2. Andy Says:

    Cool game.

    I believe they’ve said that a frenzying beast will still be available for transfers and animus casting by the warlock if they meet the normal criteria, but we will know for sure in another month and a bit anyhow.

    Little note, you can’t throw a model with a larger base (ie slag troll can’t throw stormclad)

Leave a Reply

