The Uk Nationals

by

Ok I wanna take a small break out of my nonstop painting schedule to talk for a bit about the UK nationals.

Now anyone who listens to the Boosted Damage podcast will know, the UK Nationals are the premier WarmaHordes tournament for the year. Hosted at the UK games expo in Bormingham over the weekend of the 4th to the 6th of June.

This year is 50 points, 2 lists, 6 games I think (though someone might correct me on that) and all year I’ve been looking forward to taking my Retribution and kicking some backside.

However… The BTC came along.

So now I’ve decided I’m going to be taking my Trolls. A faction I haven’t even played a game with yet, a faction I know absolutley nothing about when it comes to table play, A faction that currently only lives in theorymachine where I’m concerned. But damn I wanna play with a fully painted army!

Now this poses 2 slight problems…
1: my list is only 35 points, and the event is 50 points.
2: it’s a dual list event.

So, I took a look at the Hordes PDF, and whacked out iBodger in the vain hope I could take my list to 50pts AND create a secondary list that wouldn’t require much more models painted.

Here is my BTC list extension:

Hoarluk Doomshaper, Shaman of the Gnarls +7 points
* Mulg the Ancient
* Slag Troll
* Troll Axer
Fell Caller Hero
Horthol, Long Rider champion
4 Krielstone Bearer & Stone Scribes
10 Pyg Burrowers
Stone Scribe Chronicler
Troll Whelps
6 Trollkin Fennblades
3 Trollkin Long Riders

Here’s my thinking: The SSC was thrown in for the knockdown story, I theorize I can put it on the Pyg’s so that I’m not that bothered when they die on that turn after they drop the pain. The Axer was added in because he’s an awesome model and gives me access to Rush, making Mulg that tiny bit faster. I threw in a min unit of Fennblades, cause vengeance kicks ass and I needed a little bit more beat face. And finally the whelps, well the whelps were thrown in because they’re whelps, and they’re super cool.

So now my secondary list:

Madrak Ironhide, World Ender +5 points
* Mulg the Ancient
* Slag Troll
* Troll Axer
Fell Caller Hero
Horthol, Long Rider Champion
10 Pyg Burrowers
Stone Scribe Chronicler
10 Trollkin Fennblades
3 Trollkin Long Riders

As you can see, not much different. I love Madrak, he kicks serious bad guy ass. He is my favourite caster out of all of the troll casters, and I went with the epic version cause he is the World Ender (and cause he has fricking awesome spells and feat). As for the list, what can I say? It’s pretty similar to the Hoarluk list other than it has full Fennblades and no whelps! Pretty straight forward.

So I’d be interested in what you think of my lists and what you think I can do to maybe improve them. Remember my Trollblood knowledge is slim at best.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “The Uk Nationals”

  1. Procrastinator Says:

    well from my limited troll knowlegde eMad is all about infantry, you just cant get rid of him when he is surrounded by trolls. so those 10 fenblades should stick near him.

    other than that im not used to seeing a troll army with only 1 heavy so be ready for mg to take a beating as he will be publc enemy no 1, so i would try and think of plausable uses of the army if he is taken down quickly by the enemy

Leave a Reply

