Barbed Thorn Challenge – Day 1

by

Ok, day one of the challenge, and I’ve managed to paint my Warlock!

But before I present the model I want to talk about the reasons behind my paint scheme.

Now, as you’ll know from my previous post I decided to go with a grey scheme for the flesh, I decided normal grey for the trollkin, light grey for the pygmies, and dark grey for the Beasts. When it came to deciding on the clothing/armour, I wanted to portray Hoarluk’s ‘wild’ theme, i wanted the armour to look like old armour that had been used over the centuries, so I went with a bronze colour rather than a silver colour. I wanted the clothing to be dull, muted, leathers and dark natural colours. I originally went with a dark green colour for the tartan, but I suddenly realised that my trolls would then start to look suspiciously like Circle Orboros themed trolls, so I quickly changed to a dark blue colour with green stripes through it.

I’m quite pleased with the way Hoarluk’s staff came out, especially the runic glow on the stone on the end, something I think I will take on when I do Mulg (who is next btw). I’m also very pleased with the minor conversion of putting the Scroll in Hoarluk’s hand rather than on the base.

I like the model, and I’m really pleased with the paintjob, I’ll be eager to hear what you guys think, so please feel free to leave c+c. Don’t be afraid to leave negative comments aswell if you want.

Without further ado, I present Hoarluk Doomshaper:

Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Barbed Thorn Challenge – Day 1”

  1. petezilla Says:

    Very nice man. Couldn’t fault it if I wanted to.

  2. Neal Says:

    That is stunning, cant wait to see Mulg. How long did he take? You taking trolls to the nationals?

    • jasefox Says:

      Possibly taking them to nationals, all depends on how quick I finish these 35 points and whether or not I’ll have time to paint up 50pt list +alt list.

      All in all, I started Hoarluk at 10 this morning, and finished him about 6, with a dinner hour. About 7 hours in total. Mulg might take me longer!

  3. Owen Says:

    He. Looks. Awesome.

    Great job.

    Owen

Leave a Reply

