BTC – A Progress Report

by

I’ve always been a big advocate of the theory ‘A good base makes a good model’.

I get upset when I see a really nicely painted model with only sand on it’s base. I recently saw some beautifully painted Khador where the player had only stuck Snow on their bases *sigh*. PeteZ took enough beatings off me about his bases (he doesn’t even sand them!)

With this in mind whenever I do a new army I always try to test my limits with bases. People will notice that on my Retribution bases I used cork. Now with my Retribution bases I wanted a Thornwood style bases on them, swampy kinda foresty look. It came out ok, but not brilliant, I clearly had a lot of room for improvement.

With my trolls, I realized I had 2 weeks before I can even start painting them, so here’s my time to experiment with my bases. I knew that I wanted to stick with Cork, but I wanted a more foresty style feel to it.

I started off as usual, by cutting some small pieces of cork for the bases, I then covered large areas of the base with textured paint. I primed the base black, and painted the whole thing Charadon Granite.
I then picked areas of the base where I wanted it to be stone still, and painted these with the following colours: adeptus battlegrey, codex grey, fortress grey. I then picked out the textured areas with Orkhide shade, snot green, knarloc green, and a tiny hilight of gretchin green. Finally, I picked up some nifty clump foliage from our LGS, and glued these on in various places to make it look like vegetation.
I finished off by painting the rim of the base black.

The finished product?

Tags: , , ,

3 Responses to “BTC – A Progress Report”

  1. petezilla Says:

    Check you out “Mr I’ve got a LGS”!
    Fancy bases only exist to draw attention away from bad paint jobs!

  2. bluecardinal Says:

    The bases look good and should go nicely with your trolls. Have you come up with a paint scheme for them or are you going to use the standard?

    I’ll have to try out textured paint on my bases. From the looks of the photos, it gives it a more realistic look by not having the ground all flat.

  3. Procrastinator Says:

    very nice mate, not sure what i will do with mine at this point eButcher already having a crafted base meant i can put it off for a while. and to petezilla’s comment a LGS would be awesome.

    can wait to see the trolls

Leave a comment