Kara Sloan: First Impressions

by

Ok, So Monday I went to a new club and played somebody new.

He decided to rock out a Cygnar list which contained the following:

Captain Kara Sloan 6 points
* Defender 9 points
* Grenadier 5 points
* Hunter 6 points
Arcane Tempest Gun Mages 6 points
* Gun Mage Officer 2 points
Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team 4 points
Gun Mage Captain Adept 2 points
Reinholdt, Gobber Speculator 1 point
6 Trenchers 6 points

I Had:

Adeptis Rahn 6 points
* 2x Chimera 6 points each
6 Dawnguard Sentinels 6 points
* Sentinel Officer & Standard 2 points
House Shyeel Battle Mages 5 points
House Shyeel Battle Mages 5 points
2x House Shyeel Magister 2 points each
Mage Hunter Assassin 2 points
Stormfall Archers 5 points

Now I’d read and heard a lot about Sloan, I was surprised she wasn’t accompanied by the squire, and I suspect in hindsight my opponent regrets this, but I’ll get round to that.

I win the roll off, advanced forward pretty hefty, threw out a force field and put some focus on a chimera (with the hope that it would protect it against the hunter) and the MHA in a comedy turn ran away from the Gun Mage captain adept.

My opponent advanced with the trenchers and grenadier hunkered down, Ryan let rip a Mage storm, hunter shot the Chimera, hitting but doing minimal damage. Couple of gun mages shot the sentinels and killed a few.

My turn, and I had a golden oppurtunity I couldn’t miss. I ran the sentinels out in front of the trenchers, but mainly out the way of all my mages, Rahn activated, popped his feat, got up behind the Sentinels, arced a TK onto the MHA, then force slammed the Defender into Kara, bit of damage to both, but knocked them both down, meaning less focus to play with next turn if he wanted to shoot. Then the plan played out, my left hand battle Mage unit advanced and DESTROYED the Black 13th. Thank god. I killed a couple of trenchers. The other Battle Mage unit then pulled the hunter out the woods, and after playing about with him had him damaged a knocked down. Good feat turn imo, but I suddenly noticed a gaping hole between Kara and Rahn, I was going to have to rely on his force barrier’d def 16 against range, ho hum.

Kara started her turn by spending focus on the defender, herself and the hunter to stand up. Reinholdt moved forward and provided Sloan with a reload, I wasn’t surprised. The Grenadier took some shots at the sentinels and killed the only two blocking the path to Rahn. Bum. Sloan activated, popped her feat, moved forward and couldn’t be sure if she was in range of her gun (this is where the squire would’ve helped) so she was forced to cast Fire Group for the +2″ range. She took a shot at Rahn, hit and did a fair bit of damage, she took another shot due to Fire Group but missed. She then used Reinholdts reload for another shot, and again, missed. The defender advanced and took a shot, which missed, the Trenchers took a CRA, hit but did minimal damage. The Gun mages took some snipe shots, but the three that could see all missed. The hunter took a shot and did some damage leaving Rahn on 4 damage left. The Defender then took a shot due to Fire Group, but again it missed ending my opponents turn. I’d like to point out at this point that all my opponents ranged shots that turn were boosted due to the feat, making this even more ridiculous than it was.

My turn, simply put, I force slammed kara knocking her down, killed all the trenchers in the way and charged her with the MHA. Needless to say she died.

My thoughts on Sloan: that feat turn is scary beyond belief. Sloan being a weapon master on her gun, if she’d had more focus that turn I would’ve been dead. I have no idea how to stop it either. Thoughts on a postcard please.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Kara Sloan: First Impressions”

  1. petezilla Says:

    Is this the club in Liverpool?
    I’m glad you won, don’t want to be bringing shame on the RG now do we?

  2. Procrastinator Says:

    sounds like a close one jase.

    hmm not checked karas stats, is it just all ranged attacks are boosted? she might be a good alternative for my dirty dozen caster unless her abilities are friendly faction models only???

    in regards to stopping it i dont think there is much you can with rahn, stealth or a wall off bodies.

    maybe having a hydra on bodyguard duty (ie in front at all times) and use arc nodes for the los for the spells?

Leave a Reply

